IWCSS Archive

Archive for the International Web Community for Scandinavian Studies

Einar Hansen Lecture 2019 video finally released!

Einar Hansen Lecture 2019 - Video

The Einar Hansen Lecture in 2019

Knausgård: In Search of a New Form

by Toril Moi

(James B. Duke Professor of Literature and Romance Studies, Professor of English, Philosophy, and Theatre Studies)

Recorded on Monday the 7th of October 2019 in the LUX auditorium
at the Joint Faculties of Humanities and Theology, Lund University
ARVE Error: Mode: lazyload not available (ARVE Pro not active?), switching to normal mode

Centre for Scandinavian Studies Copenhagen – Lund and Einar Hansens Allhemsstiftelse proudly presents the Einar Hansen Lecture 2019: “Knausgård: In Search of a New Form” by Toril Moi (the lecture begins at 13:43)

Recorded on Monday the 7th of October 2019 in the LUX auditorium at the Joint Faculties of Humanities and Theology, at Lund University.

In this lecture Toril Moi argues that Karl Ove Knausgaard’s My Struggle represents something new in literary history. She reads My Struggle as a writer’s search for a new form, an attempt to find an answer to the question: What comes after postmodernism?

She shows that Knausgaard’s concept of form is utterly at odds with the traditional concept of form developed by literary critics in the wake of modernism. That concept was formalist: it made us believe that form can be discussed without reference to meaning, effects, content, feelings, experiences and so on.

Through an attentive reading of My Struggle, Toril Moi raises the question of wether it is possible to develop a non-formalist notion of literary form.

Toril Moi is James B. Duke Professor of Literature and Romance Studies, and Professor of Philosophy, English, and Theater Studies at Duke University. She has published a number of books and many essays on literary theory, feminist theory, Simone de Beauvoir, Henrik Ibsen, and ordinary language philosophy in the tradition of Wittgenstein, Austin, and Cavell. Important works include “Sexual/Textual Politics: Feminist Literary Theory” (1985), “What Is a Woman? and Other Essays (1999)” and “Henrik Ibsen and the Birth of Modernism: Art, Theater, Philosophy” (2006). Her latest book is “Revolution of the Ordinary: Literary Studies after Wittgenstein, Austin, and Cavell” (Chicago, 2017).

More information about her life and work can be found on her website: http://www.torilmoi.com/.

To read more about the Einar Hansen Lecture, follow this link: https://csspublications.net/einar-hansen-home

Press about the lecture:

November 15, 2019

This entry was posted in

CSS CSS Publications

Write a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *